My Half Marathon

was amazing. My dad and I got to the expo and he looked around and said, “This is a pretty big deal, huh?” I just laughed. He knew it was a big deal for me, but didn’t realize it was as big as it was.

I have been consumed with this half marathon for weeks. The last two weeks nearly driving the hubs crazy. he actually got out and power-walked with me to convince me that yes, I could indeed finish in the time allotted Part of that is a previous blog that never got done here. Maybe I’ll catch it up before posting. Of course, his powerwalking is my wogging pace!

My friend, her daughter, and I started at the back of the line. I told her I had to do intervals and she said she’d do it with me. Her daughter hadn’t ran at all in months. But she was getting in better shape through her PE’s. We weren’t the only ones timing, and that really screwed me up until I realized that it wasn’t my clock going off every time!

I pulled them through the first half. Encouraging, slowing down to walk some for the daughter. About mile 6, the daughters lagging more and more, not keeping up with the intervals and so my friend decides we’re just going to have to leave her. This pisses the daughter off and she comes back after us! As she catches up, we slow down for her.

The hubs and daddy are at the half way mark. I’m all smiles, feeling the best. After a brief convo, we strike out again and it hits me. I didn’t refuel quick enough and I crash. So now, it’s my friend pulling me. Encouraging me. Miles 8-10 were bad. I hurt, I was tired, my body couldn’t catch up with refueling. Ugh!

Thanks to my friend for pulling me through it. Ended up walking 2 minutes and running one. At mile 10, we could see the light at the end of the tunnel and started pushing through. We only had a 5k left! We still mostly did 1:2, but we did some 2:1 intervals. The miles at the end were longer than the ones at the beginning!

At the last water station, the fella told us we had 1.1 miles left to go. Whew! We made it! We were on cloud nine, and started pushing through that last mile. A half mile in to that, we saw the sign…the 12 mile sigh. Mentally, that messed with me. I didn’t know if I had .6 miles left or 1.1, but that distance kept getting longer. My friend pushed me, encouraged me, and drug me. And we went.

Finally, the finish line. I’m telling you, those miles and minutes kept getting longer and longer and longer! But I made it! And it felt fabulous!

After some retraining (another blog post), I’m ready to do it again. I’m not sure I’ll ever do a marathon, but halfs? Yep, I’m a half girl!

This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

