I’m a Wannabe

They can say all they want that so long as you run just a little, you’re a runner. Let me tell you, that may work for the rest of you, but for me….It’s all lies.
I’m no runner. I’m just a wannabe. I want so badly to be able to run. I can shuffle. I can shuffle for a mile without stopping. But when I shuffle, people walk faster than I do. My shuffle is just less than 14 minutes per mile.

There’s only so much of the good attitude I can go with before I realize I’m only a wannabe. I did my first mile on Saturday in just over 12 minutes. Because I pushed that first mile, I was slower the last two (over 14). Yes, I improve a little bit at a time. But I’ve been working my but off to only see a 15 second improvement is harsh.

I guess I’m just beginning to doubt ever seeing a decent, respectable 5k finish time. I’m registered for a freaking half marathon in February. I guess I’ll just have to walk it.

I want to be a runner. I enjoy it. I feel so dang good when I’m finished. But no amount of hard work seems to be getting me any closer to feeling like a runner.

Edited to add: I’m not just starting out. 🙂 I’ve been doing this for 8-9 months.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m a Wannabe

  1. hownottokillyourparents says:

    I’m not the only one! I’m right there with you: I feel better when I’m done, but I swear those power-walking grannies are going to do my self-esteem right in. My husband, who is part-cheetah-part-mountain-goat, says that doing sprints and intervals will help. But I am pretty worthless after one sprint… I just haven’t had the heart to try a whole work out that way.

    Good luck to you!

    • heather73 says:

      I hear you! I’ve started working on intervals but I’m walking between them. Why? Because the sprint does me in! I just wish I knew someone who started off as badly as I did, who’s struggled for as long as I have, actually made it to be a respectable runner!

      • hownottokillyourparents says:

        Oh, I know. Mr. T ran track in high school, so even if he’s out of commission for half a year, he just gets out there and bounds away… but at least we’re doing the damned thing. That’s something.

  2. heather73 says:

    You know, that’s my new response to those negative thoughts. We are doing the damned thing! Yeah!

Leave a Reply

